Top 5 NBA Players to Never Win MVP

By James Caricato - December 07, 2018

According to the NCAA, the odds of making it to the NBA are .03%, let alone being signed for more than a year…or even starting. What do you think the odds of winning NBA MVP are? When we think about the All Time NBA Greats, we pile on the accolades, especially MVP awards to compare the greats to see whose achievements stack up the highest. Through the years, we’ve seen some of our favorite athletes win MVP, sometimes twice, or even 3…4…or 5 times. But what about the legends that never won an MVP, even in some cases when fans believed they were even robbed that year. It’s crazy to see that some of the NBA’s most talented athletes ever have never won MVP.

After revisiting the history books, we’ve determined these are our Top 5 NBA players to never win MVP.

Tracy Mcgrady

T-Mac might be the most gifted scorer on this list. Mcgrady would be able to beat you off the dribble, pull up quick from mid range, and hit 3’s on demand. The man was lethal, and in his prime averaged 32 points per game. Tracy Mcgrady is a 2 time Scoring Champion, 7x NBA All-Star, made All NBA 7 times. If T-Mac didn’t continuously have lurking injuries towards the end of his career, he could have easily been higher on this list.

Image result for tracy mcgrady

Clyde Drexler

“Clyde the Glide” was a consistent, efficient scorer, and all around a great NBA player. Clyde won an NBA Finals in 1995 along the side of Hakeem Olajuwon. He is also a 10x All-Star, made All NBA 5 times, and averaged over 20 ppg and 47% field goals for his career.

Isiah Thomas

This man was a problem for everyone on the court; even for Michael Jordan and the Bulls in the 1990 when the Pistons won the Conference Finals. Isiah was a scrappy and fierce competitor that could set up others to score as easily as he could get the points himself. Isiah is a 12x All-Star, 2x All-Star MVP, 5x All NBA selection, 2x NBA Champion, and the 1990 NBA Finals MVP.

Jerry West

I don’t know how the Logo has never won an MVP. Jerry West is the face of the NBA for good reason. Possibly the best NBA player of his generation, the Logo was a prolific scorer, averaging 27 points per game on 47% shooting for his career before there was even a 3 point line. Jerry West has 14 All-Star appearances, the 1972 All-Star MVP, 12x All NBA selections, made All-Defensive Team 5 times, won a Scoring Title, an NBA Finals Champion, and a NBA Finals MVP in 1969 which was the year the Lakers and Jerry West lost in the Finals to the Celtics. Jerry is still to this day the only man to win a Finals MVP on the losing team.

Dwyane Wade

It’s hard to believe Wade has never won an MVP. If it wasn’t for LeBron James in ’09 and Steve Nash in ‘06, he wouldn’t be on this list. Flash is one of the greatest and explosive Athletes the NBA will ever see. Many people believe that Wade put on one of the best NBA Finals performances ever in 2006 when he torched Dirk Nowitzki and the Mavericks by leading a 0-2 comeback and averaging about 35 points per game, 8 rebounds per game, and 3 steals per game. Dwyane Wade is also a 12x All-Star, 8x All NBA Selection, 3x All-Defense Team selection, 2010 All-Star MVP, 2009 Scoring Champion, 2006 NBA Finals MVP, 3x NBA Champion, and widely recognized as the 3rd best shooting guard all time behind Kobe and MJ.